Gifted Advisory Committee

What is it?

The Gifted Advisory Committee is, as its name suggests, a committee advising the school system on the program of services provided for identified gifted students. The committee is composed of the gifted facilitators, administrators, parents from each of the schools, high school students, and community representatives. The committee meets four times a year. In the early summer, the chair of the committee presents a report to the School Board regarding the activity and accomplishments of gifted education services during the year.

2016-2017 Officers

Gina Robinson (AHS) - Chair

Mindy Bonin (EBSMS) - Co-Chair

Susan Horton (DMS)- Secretary

Dr. Jeff Noe – Assistant Superintendent

Dr. Janet Lester – Supervisor of Elementary Education

Mrs. Elizabeth Lowe – School Board Representative

Mrs. Felicia Lowman-Sikes – Facilitator of Extended Programs

Mrs. Lisa McNeil – Gifted Resource Teacher


2016-2017 School Representatives

  • Abingdon Elementary  
    • Greg Meade
  • Greendale Elementary
    • Eric Chapman 
    • Ashley Chapman
    • Sam Wheeling
    • Holly Wheeling
  • High Point Elementary
    • Melanie Daniels
  • Meadowview Elementary
    • Rebecca Buchanan
  • Rhea Valley Elementary
    • Jeremiah Heaton
  • Valley Institute Elementary
    • Jenny Carpenter
    • Laura Singer
  • Watauga Elementary
    • Katie Ferris
  • Damascus Middle
    • Kelly Heaton
    • Jamie Morgan
  • E. B. Stanley Middle
    • Rob Laidlaw
    • Julie Laidlaw
    • Karen Elmore
  • Glade Spring Middle
    • Robin Casey
    • Tracy Haynes
    • Malcolm Haynes
  • Wallace Middle
    • Patricia Richardson
    • Holly Fuller
  • Abingdon High
    • Jill Morris
    • Tanya Farley
  • Holston High
    • Melissa Sluss
    • Jovella Wolfe
  • John S. Battle High
    • Kathy Malone
  • Patrick Henry High
    • Tina McKinney